Head Office: 01424 460600

Early Years Foundation Stage

There are seven areas of learning and development that must shape educational programmes in early years settings. All areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected. Three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive. These three areas, the prime areas, are:


• communication and language;

• physical development; and

• personal, social and emotional development.


1.4. Providers must also support children in four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied. The specific areas are:


• literacy;

• mathematics

• understanding the world; and

• expressive arts and design.

This is the national framework for the early years, from birth to the end of the reception year at primary school. The EYFS seeks to provide quality and consistency in early years settings so that every child makes good progress, and no child gets left behind.

curious baby boy

If you would like to know more about the EYFS, visit www.foundationyears. org.uk where you can read or download the Revised Early Years Foundation Stage - September 2014


We cover all seven areas of learning at Jigsaw, for children under three years old we will focus on the three prime areas as these are key to children’s development and learning. Sometime before your child is three years old we will prepare ‘ the Progress Check at Age 2’ for you, and meet with you to discuss this document.


If at any time, we feel that your child is experiencing difficulty with any of the three prime areas, we will meet with you to discuss this, and plan a way forward to help your child reach his/her full potential.